Contentment: peace’s cousin

Posted: May 19, 2014 in Crazy Life of Mine
Tags: , , , ,

Contentment. I believe contentment is peace’s cousin. Everyone is looking for peace in their lives and relationships.

Content about who you are. I’m not talking about being content with your appearance. I’m taking about being content in who you are. I never was who my ex spouse said that I was but I believed him. His untruths about me became so ingrained into my self of self that I lost who I was.

I forgot that I am a child of the King (God), made in HIS image. Fearfully and wonderfully made. I forgot who I was but I’ve been on quite a journey to remember. God had used his word (the Bible), Christian song lyrics, family and friends all as a team to remind me of who I really am. Add some counselors and some great pastors to that mix too.

Contentment about what you have. I’m talking material things here. As I write this, I’m covered up warmly by the sleeping bag I bought when I was almost homeless. This week I literally was down to my last dollar the night before payday.

I have a friend who says that I’m a glass half full kind of person which I am bit I wasn’t always like this. I moved out if my home after my ex spouse filed for divorce with a few clothes, little furniture and a baking sheet, spatula, wooden spoon my mom have me and a skillet and a couple plates.

My glass is completely full! God takes amazing care if me and my children. My life is like a bittersweet symphony sometimes but I do trust the conductor to lead me through this journey.

Be thankful for what you do have and you will no longer worry about what you don’t have. Living this way, with this mindset if gratitude will help you as you seek this concept called contentment.

Leave a Reply

